My Embarrassingly Guilty Pleasure

Today, I got inspired by another daily prompt from dailypost: Grateful and Guilty. The prompt is: Whether it’s a trashy TV show, extra-pulpy fiction, or nutrient-free candy, write a thank-you note to your guiltiest guilty pleasure. 

This brilliant prompt instantly made me think of one show that is my guiltiest of all guilty pleasures. Don’t judge me, but that show is The Only Way is Essex. Yep. So, here’s my love/hate letter to the show that glitters with vajazzles and continually keeps the fake tan industry in business.

Dear TOWIE,

Sometime early last year, I was bored. I’d been thinking of starting to watch some ‘reality’ TV shows for a while. My sister was watching Geordie Shore at the time, so I decided to go further south and see what all the fuss was about with The Only Way is Essex.

I didn’t expect to like it at first. A few years before, I’d watched the pilot of Jersey Shore and absolutely hated it. But, as I was soon to find out, TOWIE was nothing like it. Instead, I was instantly hooked. I found myself loving the on/off relationships and having a few favourite ‘characters’ and getting immersed in the whole TOWIE world. It’s not exactly intelligent television. It’s like that chocolate bar which you know is bad for you, but is so damn delicious that you devour it happily. Before feeling guilty about it later, of course.

So, since this is meant to be a thank-you letter, I’d like to say thanks for the laughs (Arg is such an idiot sometimes), the gorgeous men (Mark & Elliot Wright can be my Mr. Wrights anyday 😉 ) and the many juicy bitch-fights and dramatic story-lines that have kept me thoroughly entertained as well as insanely jealous of the pretty girls and the fancy cars. I’d seriously love to be a part of the TOWIE world, if only just for a day.

Well, there you go guys. I’ve truly humiliated myself with this post.

Until next time. The only way is up.

One thought on “My Embarrassingly Guilty Pleasure

Leave a Reply

